

Southeastern Indiana REMC Annual Meeting Minutes

March 23, 2024

The 85th annual meeting of the membership of Southeastern Indiana Rural Electric Membership Corporation was held at South Ripley High School, beginning at 1:00 P.M., on the 23rd day of March 2024. Official notice of the meeting was shared in the following ways:

- 1. The 2024 Director Election voting packet postmarked February 21, 2024.
- 2. The Indiana Connection magazine postmarked February 28, 2024.
- 3. SEI REMC's website and social media platforms.
- 4. Local newspapers and radio stations.

President Darrell Smith called the meeting to order. Directors Brad Bentle, Jesse McClure, Casey Menchhofer, Melissa Menchhofer, Vince Moster, Sherry Shaw, Darrell Smith, David Smith, and Mike Thieman were present for the meeting.

Following the call to order, the Versailles American Legion Post 173 Color Guard presented the colors. Chloe Steward from East Central High School sang the National Anthem, Girl Scout Troup 03202 led in the pledge to the flag, and Minister of the Versailles Church of Christ, Aaron Nelson, gave the invocation.

Secretary Casey Menchhofer presented the certification of the official notice and meeting quorum for the 2024 annual meeting, and the minutes of the 2023 annual meeting were approved.

Treasurer Jesse McClure presented the financial report, assuring members that Southeastern Indiana REMC remains financially sound.

A moment of silence was observed in honor of the late Jarred Meinders, an employee of Southeastern Indiana REMC who passed away unexpectedly in 2023.

Members participated in a 10-question trivia challenge. The winner received a \$50 Visa gift card.

Members watched a video and listened as a panel of leaders from Hoosier Energy, Indiana Electric Cooperatives, and SEI REMC Board members discussed reliability, sustainability, broadband, and "the cooperative difference."

Three \$500 scholarships were awarded. The recipients were Preston Chapman (Switzerland County High School), Carson Phillips (Oldenburg Academy), and Benjamin Vuko (Lawrenceburg High School).

Attorney Robert Wickens announced the results of the director election and led them in the Director's Oath. Brad Bentle, District 2; David Smith, District 3; and Mike Thieman, District 6, were elected by the membership.

There were 2,710 voters in the 2024 Director Election. and 370 members and 109 guests attended the annual meeting.

There being no further business, the m	eeting was adjourned by the President.	
	Secretary	
Approved: May 19, 2025	President	